Checking In

If you’ve been checking in and wondering where I’ve been, I’ve been among the living. The Fall set in with a vengeance. It looks like genealogy will have to be a summer hobby for me for the foreseeable future. The good news is when I work, I really work. So summers will hopefully be fruitful. In the meantime, I’m happy to update the site with any information you may have or correct any errors you may find.

Anyone who’s done much genealogy work knows that you’re constantly torn between depth or breadth. Do I spend more time trying to get farther back or capturing all the “outlying” members of past generations. I want to do both and have managed to so far. However, I feel like a concentrated effort and a little bit of travel next summer may gain us another generation further back. James Banks’ daddy, Thomas, is just within reach. So perhaps next summer I’ll make a trip to Kershaw and Sumter Counties in SC and see if I can’t find anything.

Anyway…don’t take my lack of activity as a lack of interest. There’s just not enough time in a day during the school year to get it all done. It’s on my mind and hopefully, come summer, I’ll be back in the saddle.

5 Responses to Checking In

  1. Jim Bradley says:

    Nice site. You actually helped me by identifying the Robert B. Bradley in the 1900 Morgan Co., AL census. I was hoping he was my Robert Briscoe Bradley but clearly that’s not the case.

    If you happen to have or come across any information on a Robert Briscoe Bradley who had a son, Robert Thomas Bradley B. April 24, 1906 in Memphis, TN I’d appreciate you letting me know. Robert Briscoe Bradley married a Martha Snow. Thanks.

  2. Glad I could help, Jim. Sorry you didn’t find your Robert, though. I’ll keep an eye open for Robert Briscoe.

  3. Scott Bradley says:

    Keep up the good work! I will try and get some info for you for a Leslie Hamm Parker -she is a cousin somehow and has done some research!

  4. Thanks, Scott! I look forward to that.

  5. jan banks says:

    hi my name is jan banks my grandfather was charlie mathis banks his mom was martha frances carson my brother did dna for me on ancestory and we r connected to bradleys but not sure how i can’t find any info on charlie’s dad any help would be really appreciated hugssssssssss jan

Leave a Reply

